Skip to content

A little about me

January 8, 2012

Hi everybody!

I’ve thought long and hard about what I wanted my first blog post to be about and found it very hard to choose from. Finally, I realized that many of you reading this don’t know me. Some of you see me on the social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, etc.), and some of you know me from my earlier days (middle school, high school, college, and beyond), but most of you do not know me at all. I figured what better way to start our writer/reader relationship by introducing myself properly.

I’m originally from Pittsburgh, PA and have lived in many places, mostly in the Northeast part of the country. Since I’ve been born, I have lived in Pittsburgh; Toledo, OH; South Hadley, MA; Longmeadow, MA; Dunseith, ND; Minot, ND; and have finally settled in the small town of Willow City, ND. I have been married for almost 6 years to a beautiful and loving wife who has been very supportive of me and my creative endeavors (writing and acting). I have 4 wonderful and equally frustrating sons, three of whom live with us full-time and one (my oldest) who lives with his mother and we get to see every other weekend and holiday along with a full month in the summer. Our marriage started out as a Yours, Mine, and Ours family with me having a son from a previous relationship and my wife having a son from a previous relationship, but we are now completely an Ours family. As time goes on, I’m sure you’ll get to know them better.

I, personally, do not subscribe to any religious affiliation. Christianity is my faith, but it is not something I prefer to be pigeonholed with any of what you see on the news or in politics. The best way I can describe myself is as an UN-Orthodox Christian. I prefer to live more by the example Jesus gave rather than what other people say how a “good Christian” should act or think. Some people have had a problem with me regarding this, but while I do respect their opinion, I don’t allow it to influence me. Since religion and faith are always touchy subjects, I promise to leave discussions regarding this to a minimum. There will be no proselytising and all viewpoints will be respected, but hate mongering and flame wars will not be. You can always contact me via e-mail or private messaging me on social media sites as well.

Now, on to the other highly controversial topic — Politics. I do not side with one party or the other, instead I vote, sign petitions, etc, based on the actual issues and who I think is being genuine and who is out right telling you what you want to hear, something that seems to get better with age. I don’t like discussing politics in general since it seems to garner a lot of negative responses, not because my responses are mean-spirited or prejudiced, but because I don’t view the world the same as staunch supporters of issues. I will occasionally share my views and welcome the responses they bring, but as with religion/faith, hate mongering and flame wars will not be tolerated. Also as with the religion/faith discussions, I can be reached via e-mail and/or private messaging on the social media sites.

Now that the heavy stuff is out of the way, on to the fun. I am a big professional wrestling fan and watch it when I can. I will occasionally watch TNA Total Impact, but not very often since their story telling seems at times to be very disjointed and stuck in the 90’s to a point. Usually, I will sit down with the family and watch WWE matches. I’m really hoping our cable company will add the WWE Channel t their line-up, if anything for the nostalgia that it will add. I grew up watching wrestling and have many fond memories of matches. And, for the record, my favorites are currently CM Punk, Santino Marella, and Jeff Hardy.

I am working on becoming a published author and hope that between this blog, a podcast I’ll be starting later in this first quarter, and you, my captivated audience, I will accomplish that goal. There will be some stories released via this site as well as links to my various other voice acting work (some of which will be added in the coming week). I will also give reviews of books I am reading, TV shows and movies I am watching, and opinions on anything else my slightly warped little mind can come up with. I hope, above all else, that you will enjoy what I share and that you will let me know what you think about it.

That’s all I have for now, but look to the blog later in the week for more posts and/or reviews as well as the links to the audio shows I’ve been privileged to be a part of. You can send feedback or questions to me at dpitsiladis@gmail.com, or you can look me up on my favorite social networking haunts: Twitter – @DLPitsiladis; Facebook – Donald Pitsiladis; and Google Plus – Donald L Pitsiladis. I’ll end this post with one of my favorite lines from a movie, not for the violence that follows or that it’s the Joker saying it, but because it is true – “Why so serious?”

Later gators,

Donald L Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

