Skip to content

Midweek update, the slightly late but more awake version

March 23, 2012

Hello folks,

I thought I had posted this yesterday, but I guess I was mistaken. Just wanted to give a midweek update on how my writing is going, offer a writing tip and give an update on The Dude (my oldest son).

Let’s start with the medical. The Dude started feeling pain in his leg, closer to his foot, and his mom called to check on it. She was told to bring him into the ER, which she did. Five hours later, The Dude finally gets seen by a doctor who chalks the pain up to swelling and cuts the cast a bit to relieve some of the pressure. When she took him in for the weekly appointment two days later, the doctor looked at the new X-rays and told her that his leg, which was originally 50% aligned, was now 20% aligned and that if it didn’t look better next week, then he will be looking at surgery to have the bones pinned together. Hoping for the easier of the two, but will be glad when he’s all healed up.

As for my writing, it’s still slow going. I’m doing this story from the perspective of three characters from three different parts of the country as the plague begins. The chapter I’m working on now is going to be an eventful and exciting scene to write. It’s at a funeral for the brother of a main character that ends in a feeding frenzy that starts the zombie attacks in that city. I’m happy to say that my writing laptop should be back from tech support on Friday and the writing should start flowing more smoothly.

That brings me to my writing tip for the week, setting achievable and challenging writing goals for yourself. I find setting a daily word count goal has helped me tremendously in keeping focused on whatever the story is about. If you find it hard to keep yourself focused on the story you’re working on, try setting a goal of so many words per day, week, or even month. Deadlines are a part of writing when you get published, and if you set goals to hit a specific deadline now, when it doesn’t count as much, think of how much easier it will be to hit them when you get a publishing deal and the deadlines start to count. I realize this may. It work for everyone, but you won’t know if it will unless you try it, right?

Well, I think it’s time to go for the night, but come back on Saturday when I review the book “Robopocalypse”. Until then, remember…

Why so serious?

DLP

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

