Skip to content

Book Review – “Under the Dome” by Stephen King

April 27, 2012

I’ve been a King fan for many years, starting with the first book my brother bought for me at a garage sale, “The Dead Zone”.  Since then, I’ve read as many of his books as possible, even enrolling in the Stephen King library for a time.  When my wife gave me Under the Dome as a present, I eagerly began reading it.

“Under the Dome” is a tale about what happens when a small town has an invisible and nigh impenetrable dome placed upon it and some of the area surrounding the town.  People react to their sudden and inexplicable imprisonment just how you might expect.  Panic, confusion, and fear take over the town at first, especially when it’s discovered that any electronics to come into contact with the dome immediately explode, including medical devices such as pacemakers.  It provides a good cover for one person to commit murder, while for another it’s as an opportunity to take control of the town under the guise of religious sovereignty.  It all leads to an explosive climax that action movie fans can appreciate.

I really enjoyed the most of the story.  Having lived in a small town, I found myself relating to the political structure there, especially the way there was the town council “in charge” and a man who really controlled the town.  In my mind, I pictured what might happen if a gigantic dome came down on the small town I lived in (not currently) and I imagined the reactions and political game similar to those depicted in the book.  Although lengthy, this book takes you on a roller coaster ride complete with all the twists and turns.

Unfortunately, the ending is where the excitement stopped and I was left asking, “That’s it?  All that fun and this is how it ends?” .  Unfortunately, the ending is a classic example of deus ex machina handled poorly.  It felt to me like Stephen didn’t have a clear idea on how to end the story and was short on the body count.  It is for this reason, and this disappointing reason alone, that I am giving the story a 3.75 out of 5.

As always, if you want to leave a comment, please do so below.  Let me know your opinion on the blog and please share it with your friends, family, and yes, even your enemies.  I’m found on FacebookTwitterGoogle +, and via e-mail at dpitsiladis@gmail.com.

And remember… Why so serious?

DLP

PS – In the interest of giving authors as fair of a chance to shine as possible, I am holding off on the book review for “The Book of Joseph” until its upcoming re-release.  I will say that I really enjoyed reading it and look forward to letting you know why.  I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause to my readers.

From → Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

