Skip to content

Podcast Spotlight – Masters of Macabre

April 10, 2013

Hello ladies and gentlemen.  It has been a short while since I last posted, and for this I do apologize.  I do not wish a divorce on anyone, but I know that it will be for the best and I’ll arise from it as a stronger person.  Please rest assured that I will do all that I can to offer you content every week and I thank those of you reading this for the first time for your visit and hope to see you become a repeat customer.  For those of you regulars to the blog, thank you for sticking around and I hope you continue to enjoy all of my offerings to you.  Now, without further ado…

Welcome to the Casa!  I hope you enjoy today’s special offering as it is an annual event that I, personally, look forward to.  Of course, I’m speaking of the Masters of Macabre writing contest hosted by HorrorAddicts.net.  In its third year, the Masters contest is hosted by last year’s winner, Philip ‘Norvaljoe’ Carroll,and open to any male author, published or not.   The idea behind the contest is to write a short horror story that embraces a theme and includes some extra “ingredients”.  The fans then listen to the stories and vote for their favorite.  The winner will be crowned the 2013 Master of Macabre and will inherit hosting duties for next year’s contest.

Philip’s choice for this year’s theme is an oldie, but a goody…. haunted houses.  All participants are assigned a particular location, paranormal pest, and an item that relates to said pest.  It is then our task to weave a story that encompasses them together into a truly scary story.  Piece of cake you say?  The story length is limited to what can be recorded within a ten minute time frame.  If you want to enter, but the idea of recording the story frightens you, let Philip know and he may be able to help.  I am also available to help with recording if you need it as well.

This contest is a favorite of mine because of the story ideas that spawn, and not just the ones I entered into the contest.  At least two or three stories and ideas have emerged each year, with many more to come I am sure.  It also gives me the additional benefit of competing against other writers and breaking through the initial hurdle and fear of any first time author… having an audience of people listen and/or read your story. Even if you’ve never written a scary story before, there is a first time for everything.

For more details on the contest, including the deadlines and contact information for entering, check out the Masters of Macabre website.  If you are a woman and want to take a stab at a similar writing contest, HorrorAddicts.net has you covered as well with the Wicked Women Writer’s contest (see earlier article).  Hope to see you competing against me and any other returning competitors.  Also, help to spread the word, the more competitors in either contest the better for the writers and the fans.

As always, if you want to leave a comment, please do so below.  Let me know your opinion  and feel free to share mine with your friends, family, and yes, even your enemies.  I’m on FacebookTwitterGoogle +, and via e-mail at dpitsiladis@gmail.com.

And remember… Why so serious?

Donald P.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

