Skip to content

Book Review – “The Dark Man” by P.A. Douglas

December 2, 2013

The Dark ManHello ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to the Casa!

I hope everyone had/is having a wonderful holiday week this past week (if you celebrate U.S. Thanksgiving and/or Hanukkah) and sincerely apologize for the lengthy unscheduled hiatus.  In the past two weeks, I have performed the lead role in “I Hate Hamlet”, been fighting a rather nasty cold or flu, and been focusing on my daily writing.  My current project started out just before Halloween as an intended short story, but has quickly grown into a 17,000 + short story and is still growing.  The premise I started with was “What if Countess Elizabeth Bathory were alive today?”  How could she be?  Do I make a modernized telling of her story or do I find a way to actually bring her to the future?  This longer is really exciting to write about and I am now writing five hundred words or more a day (with the emphasis on ‘more’).  I cannot wait to start bringing the story to you in the form of a published novel eventually and/or as a free podcast sooner than that (depends on divorce and how I want to try to have it published).

As for free podcast novels, I will be starting to record one of my novel length novels as part of my editing process and am planning on releasing it as a free podnovel on a weekly basis in the beginning of the next year.  More details to come as they become available.

When I was younger, I loved the slasher flicks.  A Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Halloween, Doctor Giggles (was a big favorite of mine… don’t judge me).  They were all movies where it didn’t matter so much who they killed or why, but how they did the job (and the boob shots… I was a teenager after all).  I always found it fun the creative, funny, or ludicrous ways the serial killers chose to dispatch of their victims.  Freddy Krueger, Jason, Michael Myers, all had a personality that made them as memorable as their looks.  I found a book that captures much of the feel of those slasher icons, “The Dark Man” by P.A. Douglas.

The story is more of a novella length one and has the basic premise of teenagers dropping LSD and being visited by a briefcase carrying, pasty-faced old man in a black suit and top hat.  He can only be seen by those on the drug induced trip and is anything less than feeble or helpless.  He begins a systematic and bizarre killing spree that includes a hammer shaped balloon, mind games, and a lot of confusion.  I had a hard time putting the book down since and asked myself on more than one killing, “Did they really just do that?”  And as if that isn’t enough of a story, there is an extra short story thrown in as well, but I’ll let you read the book to discover the second story.  My rating is a 4.5 out of 5.  You can find this story in paperback, e-book, and audio book formats on Amazon.com.

Well, I feel that is all for now.  I must now be off for more writing work on my Blood Countess story.  Until next weekend…

As always, if you want to leave a comment, please do so below.  Let me know your opinion  and feel free to share mine with your friends, family, and yes, even your enemies.  I’m on FacebookTwitterGoogle +, and via e-mail at dpitsiladis@gmail.com.  And check out my stories in the “Darwin Murders”, “Bump Off Your Enemies”, and “Fresh Blood” anthologies.

And remember… Why so serious?

Donald P.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

