Skip to content

Happy 4th of July! Updates and “Robogenesis” by Daniel H. Wilson

July 7, 2014

Hello ladies and gentlemen.  Welcome back to the Casa!

It’s been a bit since I’ve seen you all, so let me bring you up to speed on things.  My divorce finalized on St. Patrick’s Day and I’ve been dealing with getting life back in order.  After four months, things are finally getting into a better life flow.  My writing is becoming a regular habit again and I’ve started auditioning for narrating gigs, so things are starting to turn around now.  I’m submitting stories again, am a finalist in the 2014 Master of Macabre writing contest, and have at least one new short story selected for an anthology (I will share the name when it is okay to do so).  I’m getting more time with my sons and engaged to a great, beautiful, and supportive woman.  Life is getting better.

Since this is a weekend to celebrate those who gave their lives for our freedom, I thought “Robogenesis” by Daniel H. Wilson might be a good fit.  A sequel to “Robopocalypse“,  the story takes place directly after the end of the war against Archos 14.  As with the first book, the story follows multiple characters as they run across new lifeforms and a larger threat to the survival of the human race on their return home.  They thought the war was over, but in reality it only just started.

While I thought the first book was good, there were issues with it that I didn’t care for as much in it.  This book does a good job of delivering a much smoother story .  I found myself really enthralled with the organization of the character’s stories and the broad overview they gave of the bigger story.  The cliffhanger ending has me wanting the next book, but also worried it might turn into a Pirates of the Caribbean kind of turn.  The one big flaw I found was the stories left some parts out that I felt might help fill in some time frame gaps.  All in all, I rate this book a 4 out of 5.  You can find this book at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and your local bookstore.

Do you have any suggestions for books, podcasts, or indie movies to review?  Perhaps you want to find out what projects I’m working on next?  You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Google +, or leave a comment below.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Donald “D.J.” Pitsiladis

 

20140707-104537-38737686.jpg

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

