Skip to content

Adversity and “A Method to the Madness: A Guide to the Super Evil” edited by Jeffrey Hite and Michell Plestad

July 21, 2014

Hello ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to the Casa!

I want to talk to you all today about adversity.  It’s something everyone faces in their lifetime, and will either make or break a person.  What is a major challenge for one person might be an easy one for the person to your left or a practically impossible one for the person to your right.  One consistent thing about adversity is that it will challenge you, make you a stronger and better person, and perhaps allow you to view things in a different light than before.  The other consistency is that you can’t always the see the good it offers until later.  When focused right, it makes us reach higher and dig in stronger than we may normally have.  It is also the source of inspiration for brilliant and artistic minds.  It also shows us who we are and the true face of the people we surround ourselves with.

I’ve had my fair share of adversity.  I’ve dealt with mental and emotional abuse from my biological father, some of my girlfriends, and even some of my “friends”.  I was denied access to my children for a short time because of lies about me.   I’ve lost or given up everything I owned at least three times and rebuilt each time.  I’ve been betrayed by people close to me.  Through all of that, the ups and downs, I’ve soldiered on, learned from the mistakes (sometimes after multiple times making them), and have found positive ways to look at them.  Whether it’s ideas and/or characters for stories (it’s true, we writer’s do put you in them), emotional through lines in acting, and being able to cope when receiving rejections and criticism.  What you need to do is find a good  and positive outlet for your bad feelings, surround yourself with people who will help you up while you’re down, and find something to help you thinking happy thoughts (I recommend “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life” by Monty Python, but to each their own).  The one thing you never want to do is to give up.  It might be the easy thing to do at that moment, but staying the course until it ends is so much more sweeter.

For those of you evil geniuses out there wanting to improve their lives and images, I have the perfect “how to” book for you.  “Method to the Madness” is full of advice for the next generation of villains and villainesses from some of the top and most feared names in the world today.  Have you wondered what or who makes the best minions, how to find and decorate the perfect evil lair, or are you married to an evil genius and want advice on keeping the spark going between the two of you.  And, let’s face it, who else suffers through more adversity and without giving up than evil villains and villianesses?

The stories in this anthology are a lot of fun and good for a not so serious read.  I found the voices they were written in very convincing and the advice enlightening.  I made sure to take notes for future villains and hench people/monsters/devices.  I recommend it as a good summer read or one you want in short bursts any other time.  I rate it  a four out of five.

You can find “A Method to the Madness” in Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, and can be ordered through your local bookstore.

If you’ve found this helpful, have any ideas or suggestions on improvements to the site, or have suggestions for movies and books to check out, please leave a comment below, e-mail me at dpitsiladis@gmail.com, or follow me on  FacebookTwitter, & Google +.

Until next time, I wish you a very happy week and know that we’re here to offer a positive word or two if you need it.

Donald “D.J.” Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

