Skip to content

Valuing the classics, “The Phantom of the Opera”, and “Inkubus”

July 29, 2014

Hello ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to the Casa!

I am a Christian.  I don’t hide that fact, but one thing that irked me was when a couple at a church I used to attend told me that I was wrong for liking Stephen King and horror stories in general. Their opinion was that I needed to concentrate on reading classics and focus on more positive stories.  At the time, I didn’t have enough confidence in myself to stand up for what made me.  If I given a second chance, I’d tell that couple why I enjoy reading and writing the stories I do.  I’d also make sure to point out what classic stories are staples of most horror aficionados.  Writers such as Edgar Allen Poe, H.P. Lovecraft, Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley… really the list goes on and on.

Personally, some of my favorite authors and stories are classics.  My all time favorite is and always will be “Phantom of the Opera” by Gaston Leroux.  While the musical is fun and visually stunning, it doesn’t compare to the original tale.  It’s in that story that you get a better feel of just how dangerous of an antagonist the Phantom truly is.  For those who don’t know the story, the Parisian Opera House is sold and the new owners told about the demands of the Phantom.  They are to leave the Phantom a weekly allowance and a viewing box for every performance.  As you can guess, the new owners don’t pay heed to the demands and murder and chaos follows.  Mix into this is a love triangle between the Phantom, his pupil Christine Daae, and her childhood friend, Viscount Raoul de Chagny.  I am not able to truly give you a good feel of the story by description alone.  It is one of those books I recommend reading when you get a free spot in your reading list.

Another horror classic that has influenced my horror journey is Robert Englund.  Best known for playing Freddy Krueger, the toasted child murderer with razor claws, one liners, and creative ways to kill you in your dreams.  After seeing him in a very tongue in cheek “PSA” for the Chiller network bringing sympathetic awareness to out of work slashers, I thought I’d check out one of his latest movies.  Englund plays the title character in “Inkubus”, an independent film about a man who walks into a police station on its last night open with a woman’s head in his hand and a blade hidden in his other sleeve.  The man then begins to confess to murders such as Jack the Ripper, Black Dahlia, Zodiac, and many others.  Soon, the police officers that have him in custody begin to die in creative ways.  It’s not as good as Freddy, but Robert is the true star of this film.  I give it a three and a half out of five.

With that, I must bid you adieu for the week.  Novel words are calling my name, begging to be written.

Until next we meet… Why so serious?

Donald “D.J.” Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

