Skip to content

Balancing act and “Help Wanted: Tales of On-the-Job Terror”

August 4, 2014

Hello ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to the Casa!

This past week I got a lesson in finding some sort of balance in life.  For most of this year, I’ve felt like for everything I’ve done and wanted to do has been more wheel spinning than anything.   I’ve heard about possible ways to keep from everything running through your mind and then getting anxious and frustrated when you can’t focus on one thing long enough to get accomplished.  I decided to fill out a white board with a list of everything I want to accomplish this week and will wipe off everything I finished.  So far it has helped considerably, but I found something lacking in those planned tasks (outside of my day job that is).  I found that there was no counterbalance of time with my fiancee, my children (when I’m able to have them), and with my pets.  Getting things completed and accomplished in pursuit of a carrier in acting, writing, directing, etc. is empty if you don’t spend time with some of the very folks you are doing all that for.  That is one of the things I learned from my recent divorce, and it isn’t a mistake I intend to repeat.  So when you are busy working for your dream, please remember that you need a balance in your life to keep you from overworking, burning out, or losing sight of who you are and want to be.

I felt that this week’s review should be about the anthology, “Help Wanted:  Tales of On-the-Job Terror” released by Evil Jester Press, and edited by Peter Giglio.  Have you ever had a job that was a complete nightmare, working with co-workers from Hell, and feeling like your soul is being sucked away?  This collection of stories explores some of these very professions, and then some.  It begins with a mortician asked to perform extra modifications to a recently deceased woman’s body, a demanding company head who replaces you in every part of your life, a baker of the best beignets in New Orleans, and border patrol officers who find more than they bargained for.

I thought all of these stories were very fun and entertaining, especially “The Best Beignets in New Orleans”.  They were a great escape from the doldrums of my day job and a fun distraction during my divorce.  I found the collection well written stories that made me glad I have the job that I have.  My rating of this book is a four out of five, and you can find this book at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I must bid you adieu for the week.  I feel another part of a balance life calling me… a nice soft bed and a good night’s sleep.  Until next week…

Donald “D.J.” Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

