Skip to content

Publishing news and Master of Macabre 2014

August 13, 2014

Hello ladies and gentlemen! Welcome to the Casa!

Apologies for the delay in this week’s blog post. I have my sons for the full week and was having lots of fun with them. Now that they are asleep for the night, it’s time to bring you up to speed on the latest news. A little over a month ago, I submitted two stories to the Horror Society for their Best of 2014 and found out on the Fourth of July that one of them was selected for inclusion. I don’t know which one because it is also in contention for the Best Story in the Anthology,so it’s best to wait and find out which one they will use. I can say that the editor liked both stories, so that has a smile on my face. Add to that another flash story submitted and accepted for publication in the “A Tasteful Murder” anthology. Lastly, I also submitted a science fiction story for another anthology consideration and wait anxiously for word on whether it was accepted or not. While these may not pay financially, the confidence build up they gave me is huge, and for that I am eternally grateful.

Another publication I’ve received this past weekend was my fourth attempt at the title of HorrorAddicts.net Master of Macabre. This is a contest I’ve participated in since it’s inception in 2011 and my writing has only improved with time from it. For those unfamiliar with the contest, it is open to male writers and the idea is to write a short story that contains certain elements and is scary. This year, the theme was “Creature Features” and we were given a location for the story, an item, and an origination place for the monster. I don’t want to give out details of my story, “The Samaritan”, but I would greatly appreciate it if you can go listen to it and the other contestants’ stories and vote for your favorite and share the link with everyone else who you know enjoys a good story. You can find the audio and the text version of the stories at http://horroraddicts.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/horroraddicts-net-105-masters-of-macabre-contest/.

And now it’s time for me to say goodnight. I will see you again next Monday when I offer a review of “Lumps” by Ian Woodhead. Until then… why so serious?

P.S. — look for additional book reviews on the Horror Addicts blog, appearing soon.

Donald “D.J.” Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

