Skip to content

Sneak Peek: Dimensional Abcesses

April 15, 2015

Hello ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to the Casa!

Where has the time gone?  It seems like almost yesterday that we were ringing in the new year, and here we are already at Tax Day in the U.S.  So far, it has been a pretty busy year, and hopefully it will get even busier.  I’m pleased to announce that one of the reasons things have been so busy is a second short story coming out in a new anthology within the next two weeks, “Dimensional Abcesses”.  To mark the occasion, I thought I’d share a bit of where I got the ideas for the three bigger short stories I have in print at the moment.

First, let’s start with one of my steamier and bloodier pieces.  It’s my first story printed in a physical book, “Blood Bank”.  The idea came about in 2009, shortly after the entire financial industry went belly up and stories came out about people being served eviction notices by uncaring banks.  I know not all the bankers were uncaring, but it did get my mental cogs working.  What if a bank foreclosed on someone dangerous?  Then I watched the movie Bordello of Blood, and I had the idea.  A banker who tries to foreclose on a home that turns out to be both a brothel and a vampire nest.  The story built itself pretty quickly after that, but it languished in edits until I found out about an anthology being put out by The Vampire Writers Support Group.  A submission later, and the story was selected and included in “Fresh Blood:  Vampire Writers Support Group Anthology Volume 1” released in 2013.

The second story to come out was one specifically written for an anthology, “Forgotten Places”, that came out this past March.  I actually wrote two stories for it, one about a toy store with some unpleasant merchandise, and the other is about a woman who accompanies a friend to an abandoned church for a sorority test, and comes face to face with her past in a rather haunting way.  I let the editor of the anthology select which story he wanted to include and he selected “Church”.

And this brings me to the latest story coming out within the next two weeks, “Time Jack”.  This was one of a group of story ideas that I had about why Jack the Ripper may have stopped his murder spree and how he discovers the family tradition of murder he began.  I wanted to send Jack into the future, and what better way to get him there than via time travel.  I also didn’t want it to be like in the movie “Time After Time”, where Jack steals H.G. Wells’ time machine.  Then the idea of someone plucking him from the past at random to prove that their machine works.  The rest, if you pardon the pun, is history.

You can order any of these books by going to my Amazon Authors page (http://www.amazon.com/author/d.j._pitsiladis), and I will let you all know when Dimensional Abcesses becomes available for orders.

Connect with me on Facebook, Google +, and Twitter.  You can also check out my contributions on the HorrorAddicts.net blog and podcast.

Donald “D.J.” Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

