Skip to content

“Zero Point: The Triangle Conspiracy” by Rafael Lima

May 28, 2015

Hello ladies and gentlemen.  Welcome to the Casa!

After a brief and unexpected hiatus, to finish work on an audiobook project, I am back.  With any luck, I will have details and an update on its release by my next blog post.  I’ve also been submitting short stories with the hopes of getting more stories published.  Rest assured that when I know, you will be the first to know.  Until then, please feel free to enjoy “Fresh Blood”, “Forgotten Places”, and “Dimensional Abcesses”.  A little fact about the latter anthology, if we can reach one hundred ebook sales by July, then there will be a print copy of the book.  We are about half way to that goal, so please help spread the word and help us reach that goal.

Aside from being an author, I’m also a lover of real life mysteries and enigmas.  From ghosts, to UFOs, and to cryptozoology, I’ve loved them all from a young age (okay, since about my pre-teen years).  One of my all time favorites is the Bermuda Triangle.  A stretch of ocean where people, boats, and aircraft are believed to have disappeared without a trace is enough fuel for the imagination without bringing magnetic anomalies, electronic fog, and time warps into it.  Any book by Charles Berlitz about the subject was sure to be on my library short list.  Which brings me to this week’s book review, “Zero Point: The Triangle Conspiracy” by Rafael Lima.

Robert Medina is considered a leading authority on the Bermuda Triangle.  He is a science minded fellow who believes there is an explanation to every disappearance to occur within that patch of ocean, they just haven’t been found yet.  While giving a lecture about his discoveries and book, he is confronted by a beautiful woman named Samantha Weiss.  She challenges some of his findings and beliefs about the Triangle and then shows him a journal she believes belonged to the captain of a schooner that disappeared in 1948.  He accepts an invitation to join her on a search for the missing boat, and finds much more than he bargained for.

I found this book to be a very entertaining read and enjoyed it very much.  It kept many of the mystery elements and pieces of the legends and weaves it into a good story.  The downside is that, at points, the story felt more like something you might find on a conspiracy theory television program, like Brad Melzer: Decoded, where they can’t help but overly explain things.  I found the partial twist at the end to be kind of predictable, and yet decently executed.  My rating is a three out of five stars.

Well, I hear my bed calling me pretty loudly, so until next time…

Why so serious?

Donald (D.J.) Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

