Skip to content

Another piece of my childhood gone & “The Hellbound Heart” by Clive Barker

August 12, 2015

Hello ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to the Casa!

After taking a week off for personal and family reasons, I am back with another review for you.  Sadly, another professional wrestling celebrity is embroiled in a big scandal, and another has, sadly, went on to the big wrestling ring in the sky.  Strangely enough, they are two of the wrestlers who really brought professional wrestling to the foreground in the 1980’s.  Hulk Hogan and “Rowdy” Roddy Piper were friends behind the curtain, but the biggest enemies when playing to the crowd.  Roddy’s maniacal antics, both inside the ring and during promos, were always crazy and took unexpected turns.  Whether it was busting a coconut over Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka’s head, using the famous O.J. Simpson chase footage for a pay per view match against Goldust, and the time he wrestled a match with half of his body painted black.

My parents divorced when I was twelve years old, and my mother had primary custody of my brothers and I.  It was a painful time (which I will not be going into because I don’t want to bore you), but one of the bright spots of that time was watching WWF wrestling with my father.  It was during the high point of Roddy, Hulk, etc., but Roddy was one of the ones that always stands out in my memory.  Even when I saw him in movies or television spots, (which I recommend John Carpenter’s “They Live”), he always stood out against the Hollywood actors he starred with.  Another piece of my childhood gone, but never forgotten.

This week’s book recommendation is one of those stories that I watched the movie version before getting to read the story.  In most cases where that has occurred, it paints a much different picture of the story than the reverse.  In this instance, which was watched or read first actually didn’t make a bit of difference.  The story is Clive Barker’s “The Hellbound Heart”, but most people know it as “Hellraiser”.  If you haven’t read it, and are a horror fan or horror addict, I strongly suggest picking up this classic for a stormy night or a bedtime read.

Until next time…

D.J. Pitsiladis

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

