Skip to content

NaNoWriMo recap, a writing tip, and “The Atlantis Gene” by A.G. Riddle

December 9, 2015

Hello ladies and gentlemen.  Welcome to the Casa!

November has come and gone.  While I freely admit that I didn’t hit 50,000 words or finish a novel, I did get something positive out of it.  I got my writing built back up to a much higher daily output on the days that I was able to write.  That being said, I still have a little more to go to finish the current novel, and then start brainstorming the next one.  What has helped me stay on target for this story was something I learned from the the Get Published podcast.

On one of the earlier episodes, a writing tip was offered that suggested writing a sentence or two about what you want the story to be about.  After that, you write down a single sentence about what you want to happen in each chapter.  If you know your normal average words per chapter, this will help you to figure out your estimated word count for the story.  I’ve tried outlining the story, but it seemed to take the life out of the story and it didn’t last for long.  I’ve also enjoyed writing by the seat of my pants and letting the story decide what happened and where it was going to go.  It allowed the story to develop more naturally, but if I stepped away from the story for too long, I lose my entire direction on it.  This new way of story writing is definitely helpful for me.  If you are a new writer trying to find the best way to work, give this one a try.  It may or may not work, but is worth experimenting with.  For those of you who try it, let me know what you think of it and if it’s helped or hindered your work.

For this week’s review, I offer to you a review of the book, “The Atlantis Gene” by A.G. Riddle.  It is the first in a trilogy of stories that follows Dr. Kate Warren, a scientist looking for the cure to autism, and Agent David Vale, a member of an elite international security team named Watchtower.  When Watchtower is taken over by the very group David is investigating and two autistic children are kidnapped from Dr. Warner’s lab at gunpoint, the two of them find themselves unlikely allies against a global conspiracy that may end with human extinction.  Will they stop the plot in time and save the world?  How does the lost city of Atlantis fit into all of this?

Aside from horror, I really enjoy thrill rides like this one takes you on.  It is a longer book, but you hardly notice that once you start reading it.  It is the first in a trilogy, and once you pick it up, you want to keep reading non-stop until the very end.  This is a story that I highly recommend.  My rating is a 4.5.

You can find this book on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and at your local bookstore.  There is even talk of it coming out as a major motion picture.

Until next time, patrons…

D.J. Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

