Skip to content

Playoffs, resolution update, and “Rough Draft” by Michael Robertson Jr.

January 20, 2016

Hello ladies and gentlemen.  Welcome to the Casa!

Well, another season is done for the Pittsburgh Steelers.  As I’m writing this, they were defeated by the Denver Broncos in a very conservatively played game.  A lot of people were ready to write the team off earlier in the season when they lost key players and had difficulties stringing wins together.   Although they didn’t advance to the next round, I am very proud to call myself a Steeler’s fan, and look forward to the next season.   Go Steelers!

Since my last post, I’ve been doing really well in my resolutions.  Although I haven’t submitted any stories yet, I have been able to brainstorm a zombie series I had written a year or two ago, and have a much clearer picture of how I want that world to be.  I have also made further progress in what started as a short story about an old, abandoned house with a story, but it is now approaching novella length with the potential to become a full novel by the time I’m done with it.  I am also editing a short story I hope to have submitted by the end of the week.  On top of that, I have recorded some audio book auditions that I hope to have edited and submitted by the time you read this.  All in all, I am making progress on my plans, and I’m only just getting started.

With how busy I’ve been keeping myself, I’m still making it a point to read as much and as often as possible.  One of the more recent books I’ve finished is “Rough Draft” by Michael Robertson Jr.  The story follows three popular and bestselling authors who are blackmailed into going to a cabin just outside of Pike, CO.  The town is a ghost town, its residents having long ago vanished without a trace or explanation.  Their blackmailer wants just one thing from them in exchange for their freedom… write a novel about what may have happened to the people of Pike.  This mystery person provides them with everything they need to write the story, even down to the little details of their individual writing processes.  What they discover may end up costing them their lives.

This story was an interesting one.  The individual authors in the story all have very unique personalities that seem to mesh well.  At times, there is a definite Dean R. Koontz feel to the story, and it definitely captured my imagination.  There were a few spots where things felt a little too convenient or cookie cutter, but, with that aside, it was a very good read until the very end.  I give it 3.5 out of 5.

Until next time…

D.J. Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

