Skip to content

Updates and “Along Came A Demon” by Linda Welch

June 9, 2016

Hello ladies and gentlemen.  Welcome to the Casa!

It’s been a bit since we last had a chance to talk.  I hope things are going well for you all.  My wife’s pregnancy has made it to the halfway point, and it has been a little rougher compared to the first trimester.  Even with all of that, mama and baby are still going well.

Work has been progressing on the writing projects, but I’ve had to change my focus from three or four at a time to just one.  As excited as I am to work on them all, between the day job and trying to record audiobooks for ACX, there is a finite amount of time in the day.  That all being said, I now have a schedule of what stories to work on, both in novel and short story forms.  My hope is that this will help get those projects done, edited, and into agents/publishers hands quicker.  I am still toying with the idea of podcasting some of them, but will depend on whether I can free up enough time to work on the audio editing.  I will keep you all posted on all of it.

For this week’s book review, I thought a little paranormal romance might be in order.  Today we talk a glance at “Along Came a Demon” by Linda Welch.  Tiff Banks can see dead people.  Not just any dead folks, but those who died violently.  She uses those talents as a consultant with the Clarion, UT police department to solve otherwise unsolvable murders and disappearances.  When one such spirit shows up in her front yard, stark naked and soaking wet, she is annoyed at first.  When she finds out that the woman’s child is missing and that the spirit shouldn’t be in her yard since it wasn’t where she died, she decides to look into it.  The problem is there is no evidence of a child living with her at the time of her death.  Soon, she comes into the crosshairs of the only other entities she can see clearly, what she refers to demons.  Will she be able to find the child the ghost woman referred to without falling getting killed herself?

Normally, paranormal romances aren’t my cup of tea.  What few I’ve read either weren’t well written or the character development lacked proper development.  This story snuck up on me, and I admit to enjoying it tremendously.  There were some hang-ups along the way, mostly in how often the demons seemed to want to strip Tiff down to nothing, but for the most part, it fit into the story telling pretty well.  There was usually a very good reason for it.  Personally, I think they played out the big twist way too early in the series, but that is just me.  I rate this book a 4 out of 5.

Until next time… And I promise it will not be so long until then…

D.J. Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

