Skip to content

Comic Book Review — All Star Batman Vol. 1: My Own Worst Enemy

July 6, 2017

Hello ladies and gentlemen. Welcome to the Casa!

Well, summer has fully arrived here in North Dakota. With temperatures approaching 100 degrees and very little rain so far, things have been pretty unbearable, especially for an autumn baby like me. The one thing that helps me get through it (besides air conditioning) is the fact that we are now closer to Halloween and Christmas, my two favorite holidays. Also, we only have to deal with the high temperatures for the next month and a half to two months before things will get down to the 60s and 70s. I am definitely looking forward to that. For now, I also take solace in the fact that I don’t have to deal with freezing weather and snow storms as I work on the repairs to our new home. We are still hoping to move in there in about six months or so, although some days it feels more “or so”.

This week, I thought I’d introduce a new thing to the blog. I enjoy reading anything and everything I can, which include comic books. I used to collect the X-Men and Spider-Man comics about twenty years ago, however it became very expensive. Sadly, all of the comics I had collected needed to be gotten rid of due to a mold allergy my wife had with my home at the time of the marriage. Considering how the marriage ended, getting rid of all of those comic books is something I still regret doing. Unfortunately, I cannot go back in time, so I try to not think about it too much. I was a loose fan of the Batman comics, but, like many people, the Nolan Batman films triggered a love for the characters in that world that almost eclipses what I felt for the X-titles… almost. That’s what leads me to the inaugural comic book review of “All Star Batman Vol. 1: My Own Worst Enemy”.

To start things off, I must confess that this review is based on an Advance Reader’s Copy of the book, so things I see in the comic may differ from the final copy. I am unable to discuss any text in the issue, mostly because my copy didn’t include any. Whether this is the final design of the book or not, I can’t say for sure. What I can tell you is that the artwork in the book is excellent, and is able to carry the story pretty well. The book appears to be about Batman taking Two Face back to Gotham, and most of his Rogue’s Gallery attempting to stop and/or kill them beforehand. It is pretty easy to follow the story, however, I do miss the dialog and narration. I do hope that the words are included in the final copy of the book.

I need to scat and take care of our soon to be toddler. Until next time, loyal patrons…

D.J. Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

