Skip to content

RIP George A. Romero

July 20, 2017

Hello ladies and gentlemen. Welcome to the Casa!

How has your week been? Mine has been kind of a busy and tiring one. The heat and humidity of the summer has been exceptionally draining, but the plus is that we are that much closer to autumn, Halloween, and Christmas. The new house is slowly getting cleaned out, and things are about to get much busier on that front. We are looking at moving there sometime in the next six months or less, depending on how quickly we can get things done. Once there, it will be much easier to record cleaner recordings for podcast and audiobook. More updates to come.

Writing wise, I’ve not been able to get much done until recently. The last couple of days have seen a bit more written, and a second draft of a short story that is literally begging to get out in the wild. It’s been a challenge to juggle the writing with everything else going on, but, with any luck, it will help return some level of balance. As with the new house, more updates to come.

As most of you know, legendary horror director and creator of the modern-day zombie apocalypse story, George A. Romero, passed away this past weekend. Any horror or zombie fan knows of the man and his contributions to what we love and hold dear. I’m not going to focus on that, but say what he meant to me as a Horror Addict. One of the first horror movies I watched on cable was the re-make of “Night of the Living Dead”, which starred  Tony Todd and directed by Tom Savini. I thought the movie was a good one for the time and one I re-watched whenever I got the chance. It was my introduction to zombie apocalypse stories, but it wasn’t until I saw the original movie, directed by Mr. Romero, than I saw the nuances not included in the original. There is just something about seeing it in black and white and the use of shadows to add an extra element of horror. It was also how you might expect a resurrected corpse to act like, not the rabid monsters you see nowadays everywhere you look. He captured an innocence and terror without making the zombies themselves as the villains, just the disaster the people needed to work through.  I rewatched the remake after, and the original still holds as the best.

Another reason I’m a fan of his is that he is from my hometown of Pittsburgh, PA, and filmed the early movies in that area. I’ve always been a fan of filmmakers and movie makers using Pittsburgh as their backdrop. For me, it gives me a feeling of nostalgia and a stronger desire to go back and visit. Someday I may, but another wish will need to go unfulfilled… meeting the man himself. Perhaps in another lifetime I will, or if he returns to usher in the zombie apocalypse.

Was that a scratching at the window?

Until next time, loyal patrons…

D.J. Pitsiladis

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

